The Moment for Grief

Much of the discourse around mindfulness focuses on what we gain from opening ourselves to the beauty around us in each moment, and in taking hold of the happiness that is available to us at any given time.

Sometimes, though, it is not the moment for joy.  Sometimes the current moment is observed fittingly in experiencing loss and grief.

My current moment is a moment for grief.  This is an inescapable, rasping, biting, fact.  Initially I wanted to abide with this fact in privacy.  After all, many of you are people I don’t know at all, and sometimes we need to respect ourselves by taking time in solitude.  I took these moments, and they helped me to begin to process my very real distress.

In this moment, I want to share with you what I have written to note what it means, how it feels, and that it is right and fitting in this moment for me to grieve.

I couldn’t let you leave without a word: child.

Baby boy; always my own.

Always a part of me,

Always apart from me.

.
I couldn’t watch you pass without a word.

Baby boy; always my own.

Formed in love;

Passed in blood and weeping.
.
And in this recognition

Of the tiny face we will never see

…This weeping…

You are birthed into memory.

Baby boy; always my own:

Always a part of me,

Always apart from me…

Passed in blood and weeping.

Leave a Reply

